The Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA) has transferred 12 coastal lightstation properties, many with heritage listed buildings, to the Tasmanian Government.  The Lights include:

  • Cape Bruny
  • Eddystone Point
  • Low Head
  • Goose Island
  • Cape Sorell
  • Tasman Island
  • Table Cape

Many of these historic lighthouses adjoin national parks and reserves. This may lead to them becoming more accessible to the public and their significant heritage features preserved.

Deal Island, in Bass Strait, will be transferred to Tasmania when a number of legal issues have been resolved.

The navigational aids (light beacons) at each location will continue to be owned and operated by AMSA.

[Courtesy: AMSA Press Release]

Future of Maatsuyker Island

As you may know the light was to be abandoned on Monday June 30, but has won a reprieve for three months. There has been an automatic light there since late 1996.

[Courtesy: Ian Terry, Mt Stuart TAS ]